“If that’s movin’ up, then I’m . . .”

Yes, I am quoting a Billy Joel song!

Leah and I gave our notice today to our landlady; this weekend we signed a lease for a condo across the street from my office. We really wanted to stay in East Austin, because that is where we were raised, and we are from there, but we just can’t afford a decent house in the neighborhood we wanted.

So we are moving to Central Northwest Austin. The condo is slightly smaller than the 3bd house we have now, for a good amount less. We won’t have to worry about mowing the lawn, ghosts haunting our plumbing, or anything else. I will be able to WALK to work, which seems such a novel idea. Right now my drive to work is nothing to complain about, but still – I will have less mileage and will be better for the environment.

Plus, our new landlord lives in Austin (our current landlady lives in CA). We move in late June, and I’m excited.

2 Comments

Filed under Austin, house and home, personal

2 responses to ““If that’s movin’ up, then I’m . . .”

  1. Oh yeah, well I still live with my mom… so there?!? Actually, we’re doing some moving of our own. We’re trading bedrooms so that I don’t have to walk that far to the bathroom at night. And I usurped her queen-sized sleep number bed, which is oh-so much more comfortable than my crappy single.

    We’re doing a whole spring cleaning thing where we are going to chunk out a bunch of stuff we’ve kept for God knows why, shampoo the carpets, wash the windows; really get in and clean.

    Plus I can move my TV and DVR to the new room and finally watch all the shows I’ve missed for the past two weeks.

  2. Hey, cool! Congrats! You should post photos of the new place.