The Weepies… and Mandy Moore?

Okay, I’ve been ambivalent about Mandy Moore in the past. I liked her in “Saved”, but I haven’t seen her in any other film. She was funny as a guest star on “Scrubs”. Overall, though, I’m not a big fan of her music.

So I’m doodling around this afternoon, and I visit the Weepies site because I love the harmonies in their “Gotta Have You” song. This leads me to their blog on myspace (ugh), where I find this tidbit:

“Over the summer we wrote several songs with the lovely Mandy Moore; right now we are in the studio with Mandy and producer John Alagia working on her new record, which sounds freaking awesome.”

Huzzah what now? Just to confirm this, I visited Mandy Moore’s myspace blog (ugh) and she says:

the best part of this halloween is the lovely company (which happens to include THE WEEPIES). YEAH! they are up here hanging, playing, singing and being their cool, cool selves. what can i say– i just adore ’em.
also, lori mckenna was up here last week and was her usual amazing self (played some guitar and sang a bit too)….I CAN’T WAIT FOR YOU GUYS TO HEAR THIS RECORD!!!! it’s sounding pretty snazzy. i’m super-excited.

I just really never thought of Mandy Moore as into folk music. Okay then.

I’m not a big fan of her singing style, but maybe she has mellowed out. When she first came out, I assumed she would be another Britney Spears type, but I will admit that Mandy Moore has made more intelligent choices in her career than Britney Spears has.

I never ever thought I’d do a post on this blog that mentioned Britney Spears.

1 Comment

Filed under favorites, film, music, pop culture, Random

One response to “The Weepies… and Mandy Moore?

  1. Ugh. Am I going to have to buy this CD?