elder statesmen of rock, or so we’re told.

I’m the third link that comes up when you google “i hate van morrison”. Um, okay then.

And while I’m beating at heroes of rock, what is up with Bob Dylan’s CD being #1 in sales right now? I think young turks are buying it just to say they bought a Dylan CD. Of course I’m biased, because I can’t stand Bob Dylan. I will admit he wrote some great music a couple generations ago, but when he attempts to sing it? Ick.

Recently he said, “I don’t know anybody who’s made a record that sounds decent in the past 20 years, really”. And I happen to disagree mightily with that.

I just can’t abide all the gravitas that people deign to Dylan. Because at this point, he’s sounding like a crotchety old man.

Okay, now that I’ve alienated most of my 5 readers . . .

4 Comments

Filed under modern music, music, Random

4 responses to “elder statesmen of rock, or so we’re told.

  1. omit

    And I’m one of ’em. I’m not reading your blog anymore (we kid, of course).

  2. I suspect you misunderstand what Dylan was complaining about. He was complaining about CD production and mastering, and the fact that dynamic range is compressed so severely in modern recording. He wasn’t addressing the music composition or playing.

    Here is a discussion:
    http://www.tpmcafe.com/blog/sundog/2006/aug/22/what_bob_dylan_really_meant

    The graphs about two thirds of the way down this page highlight the problem pretty remarkably: http://www.prorec.com/prorec/articles.nsf/articles/8A133F52D0FD71AB86256C2E005DAF1C

  3. E

    Thanks, Chip. That does make more sense and makes him seem less crochety, but I still don’t like Dylan. =)

  4. Hate Dylan. Bully for you, E.