Blanton opening

G. and I went to the Blanton grand opening on Saturday night. We were there right at 9pm . . . or rather, we were in line behind a lot of people at 9pm. When we got our entry stickers, we were something like 1,177 and 1,178. Yeah, there were tons of people there. I love the museum. I don’t think it will replace the McNay in my heart of hearts, but it’s pretty up there. The atrium is an amazing space; I can’t wait to check it out during the day.

I took my SLR camera and I think (I hope) I got some good pictures. I saw people taking digital photos of the art, but a security guard told me I couldn’t take pictures. I have no flash, so I don’t know what was up with that. Perhaps just for that room I couldn’t take pictures? Anyway, I mainly took pictures of the structure itself and not the art.

There were two pieces I didn’t see, and I wonder what happened to them. One, my favorite piece of their collection, is a painting of an empty apartment. You can tell someone has made it appear that there is a male presence there. I LOVE this piece (although I obviously don’t remember the artist or title) and couldn’t find it on Saturday. I also didn’t see the sculpture consisting of cardboard boxes and latex “blood” (it’s a message about immigration, I think). Perhaps I just missed them, or they will display them later.

We left about 10pm, and the line then was even longer than when we got there.

Comments Off on Blanton opening

Filed under art, Austin, friends

Comments are closed.