random advice and more

Yesterday I wrote a post for Austinist on upcoming toll roads for East Austin. Today I get this bizarre email:

“You might also have a “free” lane option crowded with people like us too cheap to pay the tolls). Now isn’t that something to look forward to?” – you.

uhh, take the bus plz. kk thx, bye

I replied:

um, thanks for the advice?

Why didn’t they just leave a comment on the blog? Why do I get a personal e-mail? Bizarre.

And yes, I realize I haven’t posted here in a while. I update my delicious links everyday, but I’ve been pretty busy at work so I haven’t had time to blog here. If you miss me, I do try to post at Austinist a few times a week at least. But the posts I do there are usually news posts and not very personal.

Tomorrow is my birthday, and I’m kind of maudlin about it. Urgh.

3 Comments

Filed under Austin, personal, Random, travel

3 responses to “random advice and more

  1. alison

    ARE YOU A TAURUS LIKE ME! hello, fellow bull! I’m May 7th. Don’t be maudlin, young lady. I’m turning 32 and not maudlin. the 30’s the are the new 20’s so the 20’s must be the new teens! let’s meet for a drink sometime. we can have fine wine at the Driscoll.

  2. E

    Alison – We should totally meet up for a drink. But I don’t drink wine. I like the froufrou drinks, and the ones with tequila!

    Eh, I’m turning 28 and I just feel like there’s so much I haven’t done yet. That’s mainly why I’m feeling maudlin. Well, that and b/c the pic on my new driver’s license makes me look 40 years old.

    I’ll never complain about looking too young again. . . at least for a while, anyways.

  3. Happy Birthday. 🙂 I hope you are less maudlin and down right rockin’ today.