The new Dixie Chicks video is whack

I bookmarked the new video on del.icio.us so I could go back and watch it later. Well, last night during the commercial breaks at the end of Pepper Dennis, I finally caught the video for “Not Trying to Make Nice”. I agree with the Popwatch review. It’s been done, and never in such a lame fashion. The video is preachy, but I can’t tell what message I’m supposed to get from it. Don’t dress in period clothing? Don’t let your bandmembers hold you back? The video could have been more subtle and been a lot better. As it is, I have no desire to see it again. The song is nice, but I was so disgusted by the video that I didn’t pay much attention to the song. And doesn’t that go against the point of the music video?

4 Comments

Filed under art, favorites, modern music, music, political, pop culture, television

4 responses to “The new Dixie Chicks video is whack

  1. I love the song. I like that they’re writing personal music. It’s an artistically beautiful video, and Natalie’s makeup has never looked better, but… I don’t get it. What’s with the black taped fingers? And the paint? Their hands are dirty? People who try to shut them up are buttoned up Puritans? Martie and Emily want Natalie comitted? Am I dense? I don’t understand.

  2. Um, the black paint is oil.

    Namaste,
    BlueBerry Pick’n
    can be found @
    http://www.ThisCanadian.com
    “Silent Freedom is Freedom Silenced”

  3. readbetweenthelines

    If you can’t tell what this video is about, then you have to be pretty dense. The message is so clear and the video is beautifully done. It’s all about what happened to them after the anti-Bush comment a few years ago. Notice the prision stripes on the dresses? how she’s being treated like she belongs in an asylum in the video for acting “insane”with her comments? the x-ray of the spine, as if “they” were trying to remove her spine so that she can’t stand up for herself…

  4. rube

    The black paint is from being blackballed on country radio, they are trying to remove her spine so she can’t stand up for herself, and the people in back are symbolic of Puritans during the time of the “Crucible” when innocent women were burned as “witches” if they did not conform with the majority.