Farewell, Betty Friedan.

I found out that Betty Friedan had died during the Children’s Sermon at church. This guy was leading it and mentioned her passing. I was shocked. I don’t really have anything to say about her impact on American history/women’s history that hasn’t already been said. All I can say is that she is partly to thank/blame for my becoming a feminist.

When I was registering for classes my first semester at college, I noted that there was a “History of Women in America” course. I ended up being one of two freshmen (well, women honestly. No men took the course, unfortunately) in the class. Some of the readings didn’t much move me, but when I read the section of The Feminine Mystique regarding “the problem that has no name”, I was hooked. I’ll admit I have yet to work my way through the whole book, but I know that it had an amazing impact on the lives of women in America upon its publication. I was inspired enough to join the feminist group on campus, and later lead same group.

Comments Off on Farewell, Betty Friedan.

Filed under chick lit, feminism, literature, personal, reading

Comments are closed.