Really obvious product placement

“Medium” is one of the shows I try to watch regularly. I like its style; the writing and the acting are all great. Last night, one of the plotlines was that Alyson and her husband Joe want to go see a movie. Joe is reading the newspaper at breakfast and holds up a full-page ad and talks about how they should go see that film – Memoirs of a Geisha. Well, alright, I thought. That was pretty explicit product placement.

About ten minutes more into the show, you see the couple buying tickets. “Two for MEMOIRS OF A GEISHA,” Joe tells the ticketseller. We see a huge film poster setup behind them, as a crawler comes on the bottom left of the screen saying, “Stay tuned for an exclusive peek at “Memoirs of a Geisha”!” It was so ridiculous. I commented to S that NBC is the worst network for product placement at the moment.

I’ve been watching “Medium” since the beginning of the series, and I have never seen such blatant advertisement for a product on the show. I’ll probably go see the film, but I don’t need it shoved down my throat!

Comments Off on Really obvious product placement

Filed under film, pop culture, Random

0 responses to “Really obvious product placement

  1. Ben Combee

    The use of the restuarant Chili’s was really strong in last week’s “The Office”. It had a bit of a comedic point, but it could have just as easily been any generic restaurant, and the repeated mention of specific signature foods was quite annoying.

  2. E

    I thought it was ironic that feedburner added an amazon ad to this post! Har har.

    This is where I read about NBC’s large amount of product placement: http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20051109/tv_nm/placements_dc

    I guess NBC has to make money somehow. They don’t get all the viewers, but they get the money from product placement.

  3. The really funny thing is that I have no idea what you’re talking about.

    I’m a regular viewer of The Adam Carrolla Project on TLC and the tool placement is pretty strong there since you know, most people call their tools by brand name.

  4. Ah, I so want to see Memoirs of a Geisha when it comes out, it looks fascinating.