It feels like the first time

As I was leaving for church this morning, wearing my high(ish) heeled sandals and carrying my laundry, I attempted to step over the dirt piles in the front yard from the main line work. I ended up falling on my knees on the sidewalk after turning my right foot under. As soon as I stepped on it, I knew . . . I had broken it again.

And the same stupid way! When I was in fifth grade I broke my foot by walking down the stairs wrong and turning my foot under.

The punch-drunk doctor at the urgent care center told me it’s a dancer’s injury. Apparently, ballet dancers have this tendency. While a lot of people turn their foot under and sprain their ankle, people who step on their toes and turn their foot under end up breaking a bone.

I think he said I tore a ligament, actually. This is after he showed me the x-rays and asked me to find the fracture in the x-rays. I don’t know foot bones! Sheesh! He told me that if I had fractured the area closer to the toes, it wouldn’t be able to heal. But for what I did, I should be healed in 5-6 weeks. I didn’t get a cast (thank you , Jeebus!), but I did get a lovely huge boot and crutches. And I can’t drive for a while, so my family gets to drive me around. Not exactly what I needed to deal with at the moment.

I will say, they warned me there would be a large wait, but I was in and out in an hour and a half. I think I only waited in the waiting area for about 15 minutes.

Comments Off on It feels like the first time

Filed under family, house and home, personal

0 responses to “It feels like the first time

  1. Ben Combee

    Ooh… I’m glad it wasn’t hurt worse than it was, but that’s still a nasty injury. I hope you’re not in too much pain, Ms. E.

  2. oso

    I’m sorry! That absolutely sucks. I hope you get better quick.

  3. ohh babe, i am so sorry.
    sending you an e-hug.