J. J. Jake Pickle

The Statesman has dedicated a large amount of space to tell the story of Pickle’s life and the impact he had on Austin and the people he served. I was a huge fan of his, although I was too young to ever vote for him. One year my family was doing the Crop Walk (back when the walk was through downtown East Austin) and J. J. Jake Pickle was out there in the midst of the walk, wearing his “Pickle” button, shaking hands and talking to the walkers. I can’t remember my exact age, but I was awestruck that someone like him was among us. I know this was just a small thing in the context of his life and accomplishments, but I really think it shows what a great man he was and what a politician could be. I know there are others who have better stories than I.

Comments Off on J. J. Jake Pickle

Filed under Austin, faith, family, political, Progressives

Comments are closed.